Classical 91.5

Wed 4/4 @ 1:00p Jon Nakamatsu joins the Society for Chamber Music Rochester for Brahms

Apr 2, 2018

Johannes Brahms: Piano Quartet No. 1 in g-minor, op. 25

Jon Nakamatsu, piano
Juliana Athayde, violin
Philip Ying, viola
David Ying, piano

When newly-crowned Van Cliburn Gold medalist Jon Nakamatsu took the stage with your Rochester Philhamonic Orchestra for the first time in 1999, it was love at first sight for pianist, orchestra, and audience alike. Since that snowy day in January, Nakamatsu has returned many times for both orchestra and chamber performances, as well as an appearance on Backstage Pass.

On May 19, 2017, Nakamatsu was reunited with his good friends Juliana Athayde, Concertmaster of the RPO and co-Artistic Director of the Society for Chamber Music in Rochester, and violist Phillip Ying and cellist David Ying from the Ying Quartet to tackle Johannes Brahms' mighty breakout work: his Piano Quartet No. 1 in g-minor. The result was riveting.

Hear the Brahms' movement 2.