Classical 91.5

Fri 4/27 @ 4:00p The Hochstein Alumni Orchestra presents Richard Strauss' Oboe Concerto

Apr 17, 2018

Richard Strauss: III. Vivace-Allegro-Tempo Primo, Oboe Concerto

Credit Photo: Sarasota Orchestra

Evan Meccarello founded the Hochstein Alumni Orchestra (HAO) in 2010, reuniting musicians who received training at the Hochstein School of Music and Dance.

Evan Macarello, Founder Hochstein Alumni Orchestra

Since its debut, the HAO has played summer concerts in Canandaigua and Perinton, adding an annual winter concert in the Hochstein Performance hall in 2011.  When not on stage with a baton, you can find Mr. Meccarello hosting Soundspace Tuesday afternoons on WAYO, 104.3 FM.

Soloist Nora Prener is the former principal oboist for the Hochstein Youth Symphony Orchestra. She got her Bachelor's degree from the Eastman School of Music, and her Master's Degree, with a Performer's Certificate, from Southern Methodist University. Richard Strauss' Oboe Concerto is notorious for its long solo lines--lovely to listen to, but hard for the oboist to find a breathing place. Nora Prener plays it with ease in this concert from January, 2018. 

Listen to the Vivace movement.